Welcome to the Australian Ford Forums forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and inserts advertising. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members, respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features without post based advertising banners. Registration is simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.

Please Note: All new registrations go through a manual approval queue to keep spammers out. This is checked twice each day so there will be a delay before your registration is activated.

Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Forum Community Car Clubs > AU Falcon.com.au

Old 03-02-2007, 04:28 PM   #1
ntguy

Default 1998 Au1 V8

Hi all,

I am new to the later model fords. I have come across a Fairmont Ghia 12/98, its a 5 litre. I thought all AU`s came out with the plastic cover and also did not have the 5 litre plate on them.

How can I tell if its a 165 or 175kw engine. I am thinking it must be a 165KW, left over from the previous model? How can I tell if its got the gt40p heads??

I can now see what everyone was talking about the exhuast manifolds, what a joke.

The Fairmont I am looking is a 2 owner with books etc. Orginally owned by Ford Credit, not sure what that means, but second owner has had it since, he brought it of a ford dealer. Car has 270,000 Kms, but drives well, no oil leaks and drives like a 100000km car I reckon. Does seem to have a water leak in the boot, found a little rust and water mark on one of the seams near the boot strut, only on on side. I can get car for just over 4k, I know the owners and has been a second car for the last few, but was used in the owners husbands business and was travelling through out NSW for the business.

Cheers